EXPRESSING POSSIBILITY AND IMPOSSIBILITY

POSSIBILITY AND IMPOSSIBILITY

To say that something is possible, probable and impossible, use the following expressions:

POSSIBILITY

NEUTRAL INFORMAL FORMAL
  • It’s possible/probable …
  • It’s likely …
  • I expect …
  • It may be …
  • It could/might/may be …
  • It is/looks/seems possible.

 

  • Could be …
  • If you ask me, …
  • It looks as if …
  • You can be sure …
  • There’s a good chance
  • I reckon …
  • I bet …
  • I think there’s possibility …
  • I believe …
  • There’s always possibility of …
  • It’s more than likely …
  • ü      It’s reasonable to believe …

v     IMPOSSIBILITY

NEUTRAL INFORMAL FORMAL
  • I don’t think …
  • It’s not likely …
  • I don’t expect …
  • It’s not probable …
  • It’s unlikely…
  • It’s impossible …

  • Probably not.
  • Impossible.
  • Perhaps not.
  • May be not.
  • No way.
  • Surely not.
  • Not a chance.
  • It’s very doubtful…
  • It’s extremely unlikely/improbable …
  • I think there’s absolutely no possibility of …
  • I think there’s very little chance of ..

 

Look at the example:

Jimmy   : Is there a chance that we’ll win the football match?

Alex     : Of course there is a chance. We are one of the ten best teams in the district.

Jimmy   : Is it possible coz our rival is the first place?

Alex     : Well, there’s possibility of being the winner. Don’t be discouraged.

 

THE EXERCISES

EXERCISE 1

Answer the following questions by choosing the correct option.

1)      Mike    : ‘are you sure to come to Dina’s party tonight?’

Bella     : Probably, I’m not sure.

The underlined sentence means …

(A)  disagreement

(B)   displeasure

(C)  certainty

(D)  uncertainty

(E)   disappointed

 

2)      Marry   :‘Tom, do you think that we can finish this project by today?’

Tom     : ‘I have no doubt that we can finish it in time.’

The underlined sentence means …

(A)  agreement

(B)   disagreement

(C)  certainty

(D)  uncertainty

(E)   impossibility

 

3)      Betty    :I’d like to go to the cinema tonight, will you join me?

Charlie : …. Its great.

(A)   I don’t think I’ll go with you

(B)   Sure, I’m really looking forward to seeing it

(C)   I think I have the qualification to see it

(D)   Oh really, but I don’t like it

(E)    I’d love to, but I have something to do.

 

EXERCISE 2

State whether the followings are possible or impossible.

1)      …. A man can survive in a jungle without any help.

2)      …. A fat guy cannot run fast.

3)      …. Flowers can grow inside the house.

4)      …. People can live without sun.

5)      …. Students do not need to wear uniform to school.

6)      …. Expensive dress must be durable.

7)      …. A house can be built in a week.

8)      …. Riding car shows being a rich person.

9)      …. Being diligent must be successful.

10)  …. Most smokers suffer from lung cancer.

 

From the statements above, make and practice dialogue with your friends by applying the expressions of possibility and impossibility

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

……………………………………………………………………………….

……………………………………………………………………………….

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………

2 thoughts on “EXPRESSING POSSIBILITY AND IMPOSSIBILITY

Leave a Reply

