EXPRESSING SURPRISE and DISBELIEF

NEUTRAL INFORMAL FORMAL
That’s very surprising.

Really?

Here?

Is she?

That is a surprise.

What a surprise.

Good heavens.

That’s amazing/extraordinary.

My goodness.

What?

No! I don’t believe it!

Are you serious?

Well, I never!

Oh, no!

Fantastic!

You don’t say.

Who’d have thought it?

Fancy that.

You’re kidding.

I find that very surprising.

I must say it surprises me.

I find it extraordinary.

Indeed?

How very surprising.

I must say it surprises me.

TASK 1

BELIEVE IT OR NOT!

Do you belief to the following statements??

1)       A cat gets married with a dog.

2)       A banana tree produces orange fruits.

3)       A woman gave a birth to a baby crocodile.

TASK 2

Study the following dialogue and underline which phrases express disbelief.

Alex     :  I went to Soraksan last weekend.

Brian     :  Really, who did you go with?

Alex     :  Only my girlfriend and I went.

Brian     :  You’re kidding… your girlfriend went with you?  Did anyone else go?

Alex     :  No, just the two of us.  We had a great time.  We climbed Sorak Mountain, had dinner at the Kensington Hotel and climbed up to Teetering Rock.  It was incredible.

Brian     :  Let me get this straight.  You and your girlfriend went alone to Sorak?

What about her folks and your folks, did they know about this trip.

Alex     :  Oh yeah…it was no problem.

Brian     :  Seriously,… I find this hard to believe… I know your parents, they wouldn’t allow this.

Alex     :  Honestly, it was no problem

Brian     :  Wow, I wish my folks were that liberal and open-minded.

LET’S COMPARE

EXPRESSIONS FUNCTIONS
ü      Are you serious?

ü      No! I don’t believe it.

ü      You must be joking.

ü      You’re kidding.

Expressing disbelief

ü      Really?

ü      That’s very surprising.

ü      What a surprise!

ü      My goodness.

Expressing surprise

TASK 3

Complete the following conversation with the correct expressions of disbelief and surprise. Then, practice the conversations with your partner.

Conversation 1.

Joe         :  What did you do yesterday?

May        :  Not much, I read a book.

Joe         :_______

May        :  How about you?

Joe         :  I watched TV for a couple of hours and went to bed early.  I’ve been really tired lately.

May        :  _______   What from?

Joe         :  Nothing in particular,  I think I’m just bored.

Conversation 2.

Al             : I’m never gonna get married!!!!

Bia          :_________  Why?

Al               I hate all women/men

Bia          :_______________________________________  I thought you had three girl/boyfriends?!

Al             :  I did but they all found out about each other and now none of them will talk to me.

I really loved one of them too… what was her/his name? Hmm?….

Bia          :_______________________________________  You don’t know what love is.

You’ll get married when you fall in love.  Right now you’re frustrated and its your own damn fault.

Conversation 3.

Charlie   :  I went skiing about 15 times this past winter.

Zack       :  __________  Where did you go?

Charlie   :  All over the place but most of the time I went to Banff in Canada and skied at a place called Lake Louise

Zack       :  ___________________________________________  That must have been really expensive.

Charlie   :  It was but I won the lottery last year so I had plenty of extra money to blow.

Zack       :  ______________________________________________________________

Charlie   :  ______________________________________________________________Continue  It

7 thoughts on “EXPRESSING SURPRISE and DISBELIEF

  1. sangat kratif dan menginspirasi, terutama di bagian underline the expression dan compare contrast d expresson, boleh copy ya Miss

  2. thanks for your material about susprise ,i copied this material to do assignment from school…..thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

