INTRODUCTION

INTRODUCTION

Basic Competence:

To respond and express the meaning of transactional (to get things done) and interpersonal dialogue formally and informally by using the simple oral language accurately, fluently und understandable in daily activities and involve: introduction, greeting/saying goodbye, agreeing/accepting invitation, accepting appointment and cancelling an appointment

Indicator:

Students are able to express how to start a conversation, greet some one, introduce her/himself, introduce someone, close a conversation and say goodbye.

Vocabulary: name, address, date of birth, age, hobby, profession, excuse, greeting.

What’s your name?;  Where do you live?; etc

Language Function:

v      Starting a conversation

To start a conversation, especially with stranger, you may say:

ü       Excuse me, …? (neutral situation)

ü       Hello! ….. or Hi! or Sorry, ….(informal situation)

ü       I beg your pardon, but … or Forgive me (for asking), but…. (formal situation)

For example:

ü       Excuse me, do you mind if I ask your signature?

ü       Hello! Are you a friend of Nicole?

ü       I beg your pardon, but aren’t you Mr. Maman, the vice principal?

v      Greeting someone

ü       Morning!/ Afternoon!/ Evening! ; Good to see you. (neutral situation)

ü       Hello! / Hi! / Hi, there! / Long time no see.  (informal situation)

ü       Good morning!/ Good afternoon! / Good evening! (formal situation)

For example:

ü       John! How nice to see you again

ü       Hello, Mike! How are you?

ü      Good morning, Sir!

v      Introducing yourself

ü       How do you do? (neutral situation)

ü       Hello! / Hi!, I’m … (informa) situation)

ü       My I introduce myself:… / Let me introduce myself, … ( formal situation)

For example:

ü       How do you do? My name’s Christian Brown.

ü       Hello! I’m Marissa, a senior high school student.

ü       My I introduce myself: My name is Laksmi Sujono, 16 years old, a student, I am Indonesian.

v      Introducing someone

ü       This is … / Do you know … / I’d like you to meet …/ Have you met … . (neutral situation)

ü       Oh, look! Here’s … (informal situation)

ü       May I introduce …/ Let me introduce …/ I’d like to introduce… (formal situation)

For example:

ü       This is Bella. / Oh, how do you do?

ü       Lisa, meet Ryan.

ü       Allow me to introduce our school principal, Mr. Bambang Supriyono.

v      Ending a conversation

ü       Well, I’m afraid I must go now. / I really have to go now. / I’m sorry but I have to meet someone in five minutes. (neutral situation)

ü       Sorry, I’ve got to go now. / sorry, I must be off. (informal situation)

ü       I hope you’ll please me, but … / I must apologize, but I’m afraid … ( formal situation)

v      Saying Goodbye

ü       Good bye! / IGoodbye for now! (neutral situation)

ü       Bye! / See you. / I’ll be seeing you. / Cheerio! Take care. Bye! (informal situation)

ü       I look forward to seeing you again. Goodbye. (formal situation)

Leave a Reply

