BECAUSE vs BECAUSE OF

BECAUSE, SINCE, AS

 

The conjunctions of ‘because’, ‘since’, and ‘as’ show cause and effect and to indicate reason for something. They can be called cause effect conjunction. Here are the examples of using those conjunctions in a sentence:

 

BECAUSE

ü      I couldn’t feel anger against him because I liked him too much.

ü      They received a high mark on their exam because they had studied hard.

ü      I’m studying hard because I want to pass my exam.

ü      He works a lot of overtime because his rent is so expensive.

 

BECAUSE OF

‘Because of’ is a preposition that is followed by noun phrase.

For example:

ü      I didn’t go to school because of the rain.

ü      Because of you, my life has changed.

ü      I apologized to my teacher because of my mistake.

SINCE

‘Since’ means the same as because. ‘Since’ tends to be used in more informal spoken English. Important note: “Since” when used as a conjunction is typically used to refer to a period of time, while “because” implies a cause or reason.

For example:

ü      Since he loves music so much, he decided to go to a conservatory.

ü      They had to leave early since their train left at 8.30.

 

 

AS – AS LONG AS

‘As’ means the same as because. ‘As’ tends to be used in more formal, written English. ‘As long as’ means the same as because. ‘As long as’ tends to be used in more informal spoken English.

For example:

ü      As the test is difficult, you had better get some sleep.

ü      As they live near us, we see them quite often.

ü      As long as you have the time, why don’t you come for dinner?

 

THE EXERCISES

 

EXERCISE 1

Choose the correct conjunction for the following questions.

  1. Robin can’t buy a gift for his girlfriend … he doesn’t have any money.

(A)  although

(B)   because

(C)   because of

(D)  so

(E)   but

2. The flower wilted … water shortage.

(A)  because of

(B)   in spite of

(C)   despite

(D)  instead of

(E)   although

3. … we had nothing better to do, we watched television the whole evening.

(A)  although

(B)   however

(C)   as

(D)  but

(E)   therefore

4. …. I felt tired, I went t bed early.

(A)  although

(B)   moreover

(C)   nevertheless

(D)  in order to

(E)   because

5. …he is unemployed, he hasn’t got much money.

(A)  as

(B)   but

(C)   so that

(D)  and

(E)   although

6. She is a foreigner. She needs a visa to live in this country. Those sentences become …

(A)  She needs a visa to live in this country although she is a foreigner.

(B)   She needs a visa to live in this country so that she is a foreigner.

(C)   She needs a visa to live in this country but she is a foreigner.

(D)  She needs a visa to live in this country because of  she is a foreigner.

(E)   She needs a visa to live in this country because she is a foreigner.

7. He knows a lot about this country …

(A)  since he has traveled a lot.

(B)   when he has traveled a lot.

(C)   if he has traveled a lot.

(D)  but he has traveled a lot.

(E)   so that he has traveled a lot

8. I couldn’t contact him …

(A)  when I didn’t know his address

(B)   although I didn’t know his address

(C)   so that I didn’t know his address

(D)  as I didn’t know his address

(E)   but I didn’t know his address

9. …. we have to go now, we’d better close this meeting.

(A)  since

(B)   then

(C)   when

(D)  because of

(E)   in spite of

10. They didn’t know what I said …

(A)  although they wasn’t able to understand Indonesian.

(B)   because they wasn’t able to understand Indonesian.

(C)   but they wasn’t able to understand Indonesian.

(D)  so that they wasn’t able to understand Indonesian.

(E)   however they wasn’t able to understand Indonesian.

 

EXERCISE 2

Join the sentences from box A with a sentence in box B. begin the sentences with the conjunctions of cause-effect (reason).

A

B

there isn’t anything to eat in the house

it was a nice day

we didn’t want to wake anyone up

the door was open

I didn’t have enough money for a taxi

I walked in

I had to walk home

we came in very quietly

let’s go out for a meal

we decided to go for a walk

 

Write your sentences here:

1)      …………………………………………………………………………………………..

2)      ………………………………………………………………………………………….

3)      …………………………………………………………………………………………..

4)      …………………………………………………………………………………………..

5)      ………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

EXERCISE 3

Match the sentences in column A with their reason in column B.

A B
1)      I took a taxi because …

2)      Jane was late for school because …

3)      I can’t buy a new notebook now  because of …

4)      My father get angry because of …

5)      I overslept this morning because …

 

I was very tired last night.

my bad Math mark.

my car was broken.

she missed the bus.

inadequate saving money.

Leave a Reply

