GRAMMAR: SECOND CONDITIONAL EXERCISE

The second conditional is used to talk about unreal, impossible or unlikely situations. Like the other conditionals, the form of the second conditional contains an IF CLAUSE and a MAIN CLAUSE. The verb in the If Clause is always in the simple past tense. When the If Clause uses to be, it takes form were. The Main Clause always uses the modal verb would followed by the base form of the verb.

Here are the example:

  1. If we had a lot of money, we would buy a new car.
  2. If I were you, I would come to the party.
  3. If they studied harder, they would get better grades.

LET’S PRACTICE.

Complete the following sentences with your own ideas, into second conditional sentences. 

  1. If I were a president of my country,  …………………..
  2. If my parents asked me to always follow their choice, …………………
  3. If my friend lied to me, ……………………
  4. If my boyfriend/girlfriend invited my to his/her wedding,  ……………..
  5. If a public transportation in Jakarta provided good service,  …………………….

Complete the sentences below with the correct conditional sentence (1-5) and answer the questions .

  1. If I studied harder, ………….
  2. If it stopped raining, …………..
  3. If we won the lottery, …………..
  4. If you didn’t drink so much coffee ……………
  5. Q: What would you do if you came late to your class?
  6. Q : What would you do if your boyfriend/girlfriend had a date with your classmate?
  7. Q: What would you do if your boss asked you to move to other city?
  8. Q: What would you do if your motorcycle was stolen in a parking area?
  9. Q: What would you do if you met the President of Indonesia?
  10. Q: What would you do if someone sent you a message to transfer some money?

Is it easy?🙂

Leave a Reply

